سيليكون مقابل. البلاستيك: أيهما أفضل؟

وصل الجدل حول السيليكون مقابل البلاستيك إلى ذروته هذه الأيام حيث أصبح المزيد من الناس مهتمين الآن بسلامة الأرض. ومع ذلك، لا توجد إجابة مثالية لتسوية النقاش. يعتبر السيليكون بديلاً مناسبًا للبلاستيك بعدة طرق. 

جدول المحتويات

على الرغم من أن معظم الناس يعتقدون أن هذه العناصر هي نفسها، إلا أن هناك الكثير من الاختلافات في تكوينها وعمليات التحلل. في هذه المقالة، سوف نستكشف تركيبة واستخدامات ومزايا وعيوب كل من البلاستيك والسيليكون لمساعدتك على اتخاذ قرار أفضل لنفسك ولهذا العالم. 

ما هو السيليكون؟

منتج سيليكون

السيليكون والسيليكون (بدون "e") هما شيئان مختلفان غالبًا ما يخلطهما معظم الناس. السيليكون هو عنصر موجود في الجدول الدوري وأكثر وفرة في القشرة الأرضية. من ناحية أخرى، السيليكون (مع "e") هو مركب يتم تصنيعه بعد تمرير عنصر السيليكون هذا عبر عمليات مختلفة. 

يحتوي التركيب الكيميائي للسيليكون على عنصر أساسي وهو السيليكا، والذي يتم الحصول عليه من ثاني أكسيد السيليكون الموجود في الرمال. وتشمل العناصر الأخرى الكربون والهيدروجين والأكسجين، والتي تتحد لتشكل المطاط الصناعي المعروف باسم السيليكون. 

على الرغم من أن السيليكون يتم الحصول عليه من مصدر طبيعي، مثل السيليكا أو الرمل، إلا أن عملية تصنيعه ليست صديقة للبيئة حيث يتم استخدام النفط والغاز الطبيعي. من ناحية أخرى، فهو مرن للغاية ويمكن تشكيله في مجموعة متنوعة من الأشكال. كما أنه متوفر في أشكال مختلفة، مثل الراتنج، والسائل، والصلب. 

مطاط سيليكون من المعروف أن له خاصية فريدة تُعرف باسم اللزوجة المرنة، مما يعني أنه مرن وله لزوجة. لهذا السبب معظم منتجات السيليكون تتمتع بمرونة ومرونة مذهلة، مما يجعلها غير قابلة للكسر تقريبًا. 

تطبيق السيليكون

تطبيق السيليكون

يوجد السيليكون في كل مكان تقريبًا، بدءًا من منزلك لعب الاطفال للمعدات الطبية وجسور الطرق. معظم أدوات المائدة في مطبخك، بما في ذلك الأواني التي تستخدمينها خبزأو الطبخ أو تخزين الطعامالآن مصنوعة من السيليكون. في المقالي والأواني الخاصة بك، يتم استخدامه لإنشاء طبقة غير لاصقة تسمح لك بقلي السمك أو البيضة دون استخدام الكثير من الزيت. ومع ذلك، على عكس البلاستيك، طلاء السيليكون ليست ضارة لصحتك. 

علاوة على ذلك، نظرًا للتوصيل الكهربائي والمقاومة، يتم استخدام السيليكون أيضًا طلاء الأسلاك الكهربائية. إلى جانب ذلك، فهو موجود أيضًا في المعدات الإلكترونية، بما في ذلك جهاز الكمبيوتر والهاتف الخلوي والغسالة والأجهزة الكهربائية الأخرى التي تستخدمها يوميًا. 

يستخدم السيليكون أيضًا في مواد التشحيم والمواد اللاصقة ومانعات التسرب وتجديد المباني وصناعة الطيران والأجهزة الكهروضوئية مثل الألواح الشمسية والعديد من الأماكن الأخرى التي قد لا تفكر فيها. باختصار، السيليكون موجود الآن في كل مكان!

تصميم بلا عنوان (2)

أرسل استفسارك الآن!

الجودة تلبي القدرة على تحمل التكاليف. استفسر الآن عن منتجات عالية الجودة بكميات منخفضة.

ما هو البلاستيك؟

يعتبر البلاستيك منافسًا قديمًا للسيليكون ومن المعروف أنه تسبب في أضرار جسيمة لكوكبنا الأرض. وهي عبارة عن سلسلة من جزيئات الكربون المرتبطة ببعضها البعض لتكوين مادة، مثل السيليكون، يمكن تشكيلها في أشكال مختلفة. ومع ذلك، على عكس السيليكون، فهو ليس صديقًا للبيئة ومصنوع من عناصر صناعية وكيميائية. 

أكثر أنواع البلاستيك انتشارًا والتي يرغب الناس في التخلص منها هي الأكياس البلاستيكية التي تستخدم لمرة واحدة. معظم النفايات البلاستيكية الموجودة على الأرض تعود إلى هذه الأكياس، وهي غير قابلة للتحلل وتشكل تهديدًا خطيرًا للحيوانات البحرية. 

منتج بلاستيك

أنواع البلاستيك

تُعرف سلاسل الكربون الطويلة التي تشكل أساس البلاستيك بالبوليمرات، وتلعب هذه البوليمرات دورًا مهمًا في تمييز نوع من البلاستيك عن الآخر. بناءً على خصائصها الفيزيائية، نقوم بتقسيم البلاستيك إلى نوعين رئيسيين.

  • لدن بالحرارة - يُعرف أيضًا باسم البلاستيك الناعم من قبل بعض الناس، ويمكن إذابة اللدائن الحرارية بسهولة بعد تشكيلها إلى شيء ما. يتم تشكيل هذه المواد البلاستيكية من بوليمرات خطية أو في بعض الأحيان من مزيج من البوليمرات الخطية مع البوليمرات المتقاطعة. PVC، البوليثين، النايلون، العوازل الكهربائية ذات الجهد العالي، الخ.
  • صقل بالحرارة - هذا نوع من البلاستيك الأكثر صلابة نسبيًا، وبمجرد تشكيله في شيء ما، لا يمكن إعادة تشكيله إلى شكل جديد. تصنع هذه المواد البلاستيكية من بوليمرات مترابطة بشكل كبير وتشكل منتجات مثل الباكليت والإيبوكسي والميلامين والفيوران وما إلى ذلك.

تطبيق البلاستيك

تطبيق البلاستيك

يعد البلاستيك أيضًا أحد المواد الأكثر استخدامًا على نطاق واسع في عالم اليوم (على الرغم من مقاطعة معظم الناس بالفعل لاستخدام البلاستيك). مثل السيليكون، يوجد البلاستيك التقليدي أيضًا في كل الأجهزة أو المعدات أو المنتجات التي نستخدمها تقريبًا. من وعاء طعام كلابنا إلى الصناعات الثقيلة مثل السيارات، يوجد البلاستيك في كل مكان، وله تأثيرات ضارة أكثر نسبيًا من منتجات السيليكون.

PTFE هو نوع من البلاستيك يستخدم أيضًا، مثل السيليكون، في أواني الطهي غير اللاصقة. ومع ذلك، فهو سام للغاية ويمكن أن يسبب أمراضًا مثل التهاب الشعب الهوائية (الوذمة الرئوية غير القلبية) وأمراض الكلى والكبد المزمنة.

نظرًا لكونه موصلًا سيئًا للحرارة والكهرباء، يوجد البلاستيك أيضًا في الأجهزة الكهربائية التي تعمل كعازل. المفاتيح الكهربائية في منازلنا مصنوعة من مادة الباكليت، وهو نوع من البلاستيك يعرف بالبلاستيك المتصلد بالحرارة. وبالمثل، تستخدم العديد من الأجهزة والمعدات الإلكترونية الأخرى البلاستيك لتغطية الأجزاء الكهربائية.

مقارنة بين السيليكون والبلاستيك

الآن بعد أن شرحنا هاتين المادتين بالتفصيل، إليك جدول مقارنة بين السيليكون والبلاستيك لمساعدتك على فهم الفرق بين الاثنين بوضوح.

مميزسيليكونالبلاستيك
التركيبالسيليكا + الكربون + الهيدروجين + الأكسجينسلاسل الكربون الطويلة التي تشكل البوليمرات
استخدامفي كل مكان تقريبًا.في كل مكان تقريبا
المتانةدائم للغايةليس متينًا كثيرًا
قابلية التحلل البيولوجيغير قابل للتحللغير قابل للتحلل
قابلة لإعادة التدويرليس من مصانع إعادة التدوير العاديةبعض المواد البلاستيكية قابلة لإعادة التدوير
سجادة صديقة للبيئةهللا
اكل امنيتوفر سيليكون صالح للطعامليست آمنة تماما
تصميم بلا عنوان (2)

أرسل استفسارك الآن!

الجودة تلبي القدرة على تحمل التكاليف. استفسر الآن عن منتجات عالية الجودة بكميات منخفضة.

الاعتبار المشترك للمادتين

لقد رأينا حتى الآن أن كلا من البلاستيك والسيليكون من المواد المستخدمة على نطاق واسع في مختلف الصناعات والأغراض. ولكن ما هي أهم الأشياء التي يجب على المرء مراعاتها قبل الاختيار بين هذين الأمرين؟ دعونا نلقي نظرة عامة على الاعتبارات المشتركة بين المادتين.

1. اعتبارات الصحة والسلامة

أول وأهم شيء يجب مراعاته هو ما إذا كان آمنًا بالنسبة لك أم لا. هل السيليكون آمن لصحتك؟ نفس السؤال ينطبق على البلاستيك. إذًا، متى يمكن أن تشكل هذه المواد خطرًا عليك؟ المكان الأول الذي تكون فيه على اتصال مباشر بهذه المواد هو عندما تستخدم أدوات مصنوعة منها. 

البلاستيك

عندما نتحدث عن سلامة البلاستيك كأداة للطهي، يكون الرد سلبيًا. BPS هي مادة كيميائية خطيرة جدًا توجد تقريبًا في كل أدوات الطبخ المصنوعة من البلاستيك. حتى لو كنت تقدم لكلبك في وعاء بلاستيكي، توقف عن ذلك على الفور. 

BPA

تدعي بعض الشركات أن لديها "خالية من BPA"المنتجات التي تستخدم مادة كيميائية أخرى مماثلة يمكن أن تكون أسوأ من مادة BPA نفسها. تشمل الأمراض الأكثر شيوعًا المرتبطة بـ BPA والمواد الكيميائية الشقيقة BPS، مشاكل الهرمونات والسمنة والعقم والسرطان.

سيليكون

من ناحية أخرى، يعتبر السيليكون أحد أكثر البدائل البلاستيكية أمانًا. الغذاء الصف سيليكون يتم استخدامه في الأواني وأدوات الطهي للتوافق مع لوائح سلامة الأغذية. أعلنت هيئة تنظيم الأغذية الكندية أن أواني الطهي المصنوعة من السيليكون آمنة.

لا يتفاعل مع الطعام وهو أكثر ثباتًا من البلاستيك عند درجات الحرارة المرتفعة. ومع ذلك، إذا تجاوزت حدًا معينًا لدرجة الحرارة، فقد يكون استقرار السيليكون في خطر. تذكر أن تناول السيليكون قد يكون مميتًا، حتى لو كان بكميات صغيرة.

2. الاعتبارات البيئية

والشيء الحاسم التالي الذي يجب مراعاته هو تأثيره على البيئة. هل البلاستيك أو السيليكون قابل للتحلل؟ الجواب هو لا. كل من البلاستيك والسيليكون غير قابلين للتحلل. ومع ذلك، هناك بعض الأشياء التي يجب أن تعرفها.

البلاستيك

البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي، وهو أغلى نسبيا من البلاستيك العادي، متوفر الآن في السوق. ومع ذلك، لا يهتم الناس بإنفاق أموال إضافية على البلاستيك القابل للتحلل لأنه لا يمكن استخدامه أكثر من مرة مثل الأكياس البلاستيكية التقليدية. 

اعتبارات بيئية

الأكياس البلاستيكية التقليدية غير قابلة للتحلل، وإذا حاولت حرقها، فقد تساهم في ارتفاع مستويات تلوث الهواء بالفعل. تختلف عملية تحلل البلاستيك أيضًا تمامًا عن عملية تحلل السيليكون. 

تتحلل النفايات البلاستيكية أولاً إلى قطع أصغر، تعرف باسم اللدائن الدقيقة. ثم تهدد هذه المواد البلاستيكية الدقيقة نظامنا البحري والمسطحات المائية الأخرى بشكل كبير. وإلى جانب تأثيره على الحيوانات المائية، فإنه يلوث المياه أيضًا، مما يجعلها غير صالحة للشرب بالنسبة لنا.

سيليكون 

على العكس من ذلك، من المعروف أن السيليكون بديل أكثر أمانًا، على الرغم من أنه غير قابل للتحلل أيضًا. والسبب في اعتباره خيارًا آمنًا هو عملية تحلله التي تستغرق مئات السنين. على عكس البلاستيك، فهو لا ينقسم إلى قطع صغيرة. ومع ذلك، فإنه يبقى في قطع أكبر نسبيًا، مما يسهل إزالته من المسطحات المائية.

أفضل طريقة للتعامل مع السيليكون هي تفحيمه أو حرقه. بهذه الطريقة، يمكنك تحويل مركب السيليكون مرة أخرى إلى السيليكا، بالإضافة إلى طرد الكربون والبخار. ويمكن أيضًا استخدام الرماد الناتج ك الأسمدة في الغابات، مما يجعلها منتجًا ثانويًا مفيدًا.

وفي الوقت نفسه، إذا كنت تفكر في إعادة تدوير السيليكون، قد تواجه بعض المشاكل. إعادة تدوير السيليكون أمر ممكن، ولكن ليس من خلال مصانع إعادة التدوير العادية. يتم تمرير السيليكون من خلال عملية قوية لإعادة تشكيله إلى منتج أو شكل جديد.

إرشادات للاختيار بين السيليكون والبلاستيك

منتجات السيليكون

إذن، ماذا ستختار؟ سيليكون أم بلاستيك؟ حسنًا، لا بد أنك حصلت على المعلومات الكافية لاتخاذ القرار بنفسك. ومع ذلك، إذا لم تكن قد قرأت المقال بالكامل، فإليك إرشادات قد تساعدك على اتخاذ القرار.

  • عندما نتحدث عن المتانة، فإن السيليكون يتقدم دائمًا على البلاستيك. يمكن لمنتجات السيليكون أن تتحمل الظروف القاسية، بما في ذلك الحرارة والبرودة والمواد الكيميائية القاسية والمطر والتمدد، دون أن تظهر أي علامات ذوبان أو تشقق. 
  • عند النظر في هاتين المادتين من وجهة نظر شخص مهتم بالصحة، ينبغي للمرء دائمًا اختيارهما تجهيزات المطابخ السيليكون. وذلك لأن السيليكون أكثر استقرارًا في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة ولا يحتوي على أي سموم مثل PTFE.
  • إذا كنت ترغب في تقليل البصمة الكربونية الخاصة بك والمساهمة في حملة التحول إلى البيئة الخضراء، فإن السيليكون هو خيارك الأمثل. وبما أن كلاهما غير قابلين للتحلل، فإن السيليكون أقل ضررًا ويمكن تحويله إلى سماد عند حرقه.
  • يتمتع كل من السيليكون والبلاستيك بتطبيقات واسعة النطاق في جميع أنحاء العالم وفي كل المجالات تقريبًا. ومع ذلك، فإن السيليكون له اليد العليا هنا لأنه يستخدم في الصناعات واسعة النطاق مثل الطيران وبناء المنازل وجسور الطرق وما إلى ذلك.

هذه بعض الأشياء المهمة التي يجب مراعاتها عند الاختيار بين السيليكون والبلاستيك. إجمالي، يعد السيليكون خيارًا أفضل في كل جانب تقريبًا. ومع ذلك، أنت من يتخذ القرار النهائي لأنه قد يكون لديك بعض الاعتبارات الأخرى مثل الاستخدام أو الميزانية أو بعض العوامل الأخرى.

تصميم بلا عنوان (2)

أرسل استفسارك الآن!

الجودة تلبي القدرة على تحمل التكاليف. استفسر الآن عن منتجات عالية الجودة بكميات منخفضة.

وفي الختام 

إذا كنت لا ترغب في استخدام السيليكون والبلاستيك، تتوفر العديد من البدائل الأخرى. يمكنك تجربة استخدام مادة مختلفة، مثل أكياس القماش، بدلًا من الأكياس البلاستيكية أو السيليكون. وبالمثل، يمكنك تجنب استخدام المنتجات المصنوعة من البلاستيك. تستخدم معظم العائلات بالفعل حاويات بلاستيكية قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام لتقليل البصمة البلاستيكية. ومع ذلك، تتوفر الآن بدائل أفضل من بلاستيك السيليكون والتي لا تخدش أو تنكسر بسرعة مثل المنتجات البلاستيكية.

تخلص المقارنة بين السيليكون والبلاستيك إلى أن السيليكون خيار ممتاز في كل الجوانب تقريبًا. البلاستيك مفيد أيضًا ولكن له عواقب وخيمة على صحتنا وكذلك على البيئة. باختصار، يعتبر السيليكون بديلاً رائعًا للبلاستيك.

Hongju تلبي احتياجات تصنيع السيليكون والبلاستيك

اكتشاف كيفية هونغجو تتفوق في تصنيع السيليكون والبلاستيك! تضمن خبرتنا منتجات عالية الجودة مصممة خصيصًا لتلبية احتياجاتك. لا تفوت – اتصل بنا اليوم لمعرفة الفرق الذي يمكن أن تحدثه Hongju في مشروعك. شريك التصنيع المثالي الخاص بك في انتظارك!

احصل على عرض أسعار فوري الآن!

شارك المنشور الآن:

ديفيد

مرحبًا ، أنا ديفيد!

أنا مؤسس Hongju Silicone. لقد كنت في هذا المجال لأكثر من عقدين. إذا كنت تبحث عن منتجات مطاط السيليكون المصنوعة حسب الطلب ، فلا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة علي.

قد تجد أيضا هذه المواضيع مثيرة للاهتمام

ffkm يا خواتم والأختام

6 أسباب لاختيار الحلقات والأختام FFKM

ارتفع الطلب على الحلقات والأختام FFKM بشكل مطرد في السنوات الأخيرة. وذلك على الرغم من ارتفاع أسعارها وقلة توفرها. على الرغم من أن هذه الأختام والحلقات هي من أغلى الأنواع اليوم، إلا أنها أثبتت أنها لا غنى عنها في العديد من التطبيقات الهامة.

اقرأ المزيد »

طلب للحصول على اقتباس

* سيتم الرد على جميع الاستفسارات خلال 24 ساعة.

أرسل استفسارك

* نحن نحترم سريتك وجميع المعلومات محمية.

تنزيل الكتالوج

املأ النموذج أدناه ، وسنرسل لك الكتالوج بالكامل فورا!

Silicone VS. Plastic: Which One is Better?

The debate of silicone vs. plastic is at its peak these days as more people are now concerned about the safety of the earth. However, there isn’t a perfect answer to settle the debate. Silicone is considered to be a suitable alternative to plastic in many ways. 

Table of Contents

Though most people think of these as the same, there are a lot of differences in their composition and decomposition processes. In this article, we will explore the composition, uses, advantages, and disadvantages of both plastic and silicone to help you make a better decision for yourself and this world. 

What is Silicone?

Silicone Product

Silicone and silicon (without “e”) are two different things that are often mixed by most people. Silicon is an element found in the periodic table and most abundantly in the earth’s crust. On the other hand, silicone (with “e”) is a compound made after passing this silicon element through various processes. 

The chemical composition of silicone contains a base element, silica, which is obtained from silicon dioxide found in sand. The other elements include carbon, hydrogen, and oxygen, which combine to form an elastomer known as silicone. 

Though silicone is obtained from a natural resource, silica or sand, the process of manufacturing it is not eco-friendly as it uses oil and natural gas. On the other hand, it is highly malleable and can be molded into a variety of shapes. It is also available in different forms, such as resin, liquid, and solid form. 

Silicone rubber is known to have a unique property known as viscoelasticity, which means that it is both elastic and has viscosity. For this reason, most silicone products have amazing flexibility and elasticity, which makes them almost unbreakable. 

Application of Silicone

Application of Silicone

Silicone is found almost everywhere, from your kid’s toys to medical equipment and road bridges. Most of your kitchen cutlery, including the pots you use for baking, cooking, or storing food, are now made of silicone. In your pans and pots, it is used to create a non-stick coating that allows you to fry a fish or an egg without using much oil. However, unlike plastic, silicone coating is not harmful to your health. 

Moreover, due to their electrical conductivity and resistivity, silicone is also used for coating electrical wires. Besides it is also found in electronic equipment, including your computer, cell phone, washing machine, and other electrical appliances you use daily. 

Silicone is also used in lubricants, adhesives, sealants, revamping buildings, the aviation industry, photovoltaic devices such as solar panels, and many more places that you might not even consider. In a nutshell, silicone is now everywhere!

untitled design (2)

Get A Fast Quote Today!

We cover all of your needs from design to installation.

What is Plastic?

Plastic is an elderly contender of silicone and is known to have caused immense damage to our planet Earth. It is a chain of carbon molecules linked together to form a material that, like silicone, can be molded into various shapes. However, unlike silicone, it isn’t eco-friendly and is made from synthetic and chemical elements. 

The most prevalent type of plastic that people want to get rid of is one-time-use plastic bags. Most of the plastic waste on earth is due to these bags, which are non-biodegradable and pose a serious threat to marine animals. 

Plastic Product

Types of Plastic

The long carbon chains that form the basis of plastic are known as polymers, and these polymers play an important part in distinguishing one type of plastic from the other. Based on their physical properties, we divide plastic into two major types.

  • Thermoplastic – Also known as soft plastic by some people, thermoplastics can be easily melted after they are shaped into something. Such plastics are formed from linear polymers or sometimes a combination of linear polymers with cross-linked polymers. PVC, Polythene, Nylon, HV electrical insulators, etc.
  • Thermosetting – This is a relatively harder type of plastic that, once shaped into something, can’t be remolded into a new shape. Such plastics are made of heavily cross-linked polymers and form products like bakelite, epoxy, melamine, furan, etc.

Application of Plastic

Application of Plastic

Plastic is also one of the most widely used materials in today’s world (though most people have already boycotted the use of plastic). Like silicone, traditional plastic is also found in almost every device, equipment, or product we use. From our dog’s food bowl to heavy industries like automobiles, plastic is found everywhere, with comparatively more harmful effects than silicone products.

PTFE is a type of plastic that is also, like silicone, used in non-stick cookware. However, it is very toxic and can cause diseases like the inflammation of your airways (noncardiogenic pulmonary edema) and chronic kidney and liver diseases.

Being poor conductors of heat and electricity, plastic is also found in electrical appliances acting as an insulator. The switches in our homes are made of bakelite, a type of plastic known as thermosetting plastic. Similarly, several other electronic devices and equipment use plastic to cover the electrical parts.

Comparison Between Silicone and Plastic

Now that we have explained both of these materials in detail, here is a comparison table between silicone and plastic to help you clearly understand the difference between the two.

CharacteristicSiliconePlastic
CompositionSilica + Carbon + Hydrogen + OxygenLong carbon chains that form polymers
UsesAlmost everywhere.Almost everywhere
DurabilityHighly durableNot much durable
BiodegradabilityNon-biodegradableNon-biodegradable
RecyclableNot from ordinary recycling plantsSome plastics are recyclable
Eco-friendlyYesNo
Food SafeFood-grade silicone is availableNot totally safe
untitled design (2)

Get A Fast Quote Today!

We cover all of your needs from design to installation.

Common Consideration of The Two Materials

So far, we have seen that both plastic and silicone are widely used materials for various industries and purposes. However, what are the most crucial things that one should consider before deciding between these two? Let’s have an overview of the common considerations of the two materials.

1. Health and Safety Considerations

The first and most important thing to consider is whether it is safe for you or not. Is silicone safe for your health? The same question goes for plastic. So, when could these materials pose a threat to you? The first place where you come in direct contact with these materials is when you use utensils made of these. 

Plastic

When we talk about the safety of plastic as a cooking utensil, the response is negative. BPS is a very dangerous chemical found in almost every cooking utensil made of plastic. Even if you serve your dog in a plastic pot, stop it immediately. 

BPA

Some companies claim to have “BPA-free” products, which use another similar chemical that could be even worse than BPA itself. The most common diseases related to BPA and its sister chemical, BPS, include hormone problems, obesity, infertility, and cancer.

Silicone

Silicone, on the other hand, is considered to be one of the safest plastic alternatives. Food-grade silicone is used in utensils and cookware to align with food safety regulations. The Canadian Food Regulatory Authority has announced silicone cookware to be safe.

It does not react with food and is more stable than plastic at high temperatures. However, if you exceed a certain temperature limit, the stability of silicone might be at risk. Remember that silicone ingestion might prove fatal, even if it is in small amounts.

2. Environmental Considerations

The next crucial thing to consider is its impact on the environment. Is plastic or silicone biodegradable? The answer is no. Both plastic and silicone are non-biodegradable. However, there are a few things you must know.

Plastic

Biodegradable plastic, which is comparatively more expensive than regular plastic, is now available in the market. However, people don’t bother to spend extra money on biodegradable plastic as it can’t be used more than once like traditional plastic bags. 

Environmental Considerations

Traditional plastic bags are non-biodegradable, and if you try incinerating, you might contribute to the already high levels of air pollution. The decomposition process of plastic is also quite different from that of silicone. 

Plastic waste first breaks down into smaller pieces, known as microplastics. These microplastics then greatly threaten our marine system and other water bodies. Besides affecting water animals, it also pollutes the water, making it undrinkable for us.

Silicone 

Conversely, silicone is known to be a safer alternative, although it is also non-biodegradable. The reason it is considered a safe option is its decomposition process, which takes hundreds of years. Unlike plastic, it does not break down into micropieces. However, it stays in relatively larger pieces, making it easier to remove from water bodies.

The best way to deal with silicone is to carbonize or burn it up. That way, you can convert the silicone compound back to silica, along with an expulsion of carbon and steam. The resulting ash can also be used as a fertilizer in forests, making it a beneficial byproduct.

Meanwhile, if you are thinking of recycling silicone, you might face some problems. The recycling of silicone is possible, but not through ordinary recycling plants. Silicone is passed through a vigorous process to remold it into a new product or shape.

Guidelines For Choosing Between Silicone and Plastic

Silicone products

So, what are you going to choose? Silicone or plastic? Well, you must have got enough information to make a decision yourself. However, if you haven’t read the article completely, here is a guideline that might help you make a decision.

  • When we talk about durability, silicone is always ahead of plastic. Silicone products can withstand rigorous conditions, including heat, cold, harsh chemicals, rain, and stretch, without showing any signs of melting or cracking. 
  • When considering both of these materials from the perspective of a health-conscious person, one should always opt for silicone cookware. This is because silicone is much more stable at higher temperatures and does not contain any toxins like PTFE.
  • If you want to reduce your carbon footprint and contribute to the go-green campaign, silicone is your go-to option. As both of these are non-biodegradable, silicone is less harmful and can be converted into fertilizer upon incineration.
  • Both silicone and plastic have widespread applications all over the world in almost every field. However, silicone has the upper hand here as it is used in large-scale industries such as aviation, house construction, road bridges, etc.

These are some important things to consider when you are deciding between silicone and plastic. Overall, silicone is a better option in almost every aspect. However, you are the one to make a final decision as you might have some other considerations such as use, budget, or some other factor.

untitled design (2)

Get A Fast Quote Today!

We cover all of your needs from design to installation.

Conclusion 

If you don’t want to use silicone and plastic, several other alternatives are available. You can try using a different material, such as cloth bags, instead of plastic or silicone bags. Similarly, you can avoid using products that are made of plastic. Most families are already using reusable plastic containers to reduce their plastic footprint. However, better silicone plastic alternatives are now available that do not scratch and break as quickly as plastic products.

The comparison of silicone vs plastic concludes that silicone is an excellent option in almost every aspect. Plastics are also useful but have drastic consequences on our health as well as on the environment. In a nutshell, silicone is a great alternative to plastic.

Hongju Fulfilling Silicone and Plastic Manufacturing Needs

Discover how Hongju excels in silicone and plastic manufacturing! Our expertise ensures top-quality products tailored to your needs. Don’t miss out – contact us today to see the difference Hongju can make in your project. Your ideal manufacturing partner awaits!

Get Instant Quote Now!

Share The Post Now:

david

Hey there, I’m David!

I’m the founder of Hongju Silicone. I have been in this field for more than two decades. If you are looking for custom-made silicone rubber products, feel free to ask me any questions.

You may also find these topics interesting

4 types of silicone

4 Types of Silicone and Their Distinctions

Silicone rubber, an elastomeric material known for its exceptional properties, plays a pivotal role in various industries, from medical devices to automotive applications. Understanding the 4 types of silicone and their distinctions—ranging from liquid silicone rubber (LSR) to high-consistency rubber (HCR)—is crucial for selecting the right material for your needs.

Read More »
epdm rubber

EPDM Rubber: The Definitive Guide

EPDM, or Ethylene Propylene Diene Monomer rubber, is a versatile material known for its durability and weather-resistant properties. It is used in a wide range of industries, including roofing, automotive, and construction.

Read More »
silicone rubber guide

Silicone Rubber: The Definitive Guide

Like natural rubber, silicone rubber is among the versatile materials used in many industrial applications. Be it healthcare or aerospace, you will find silicone rubber material there in one form or the other.

Read More »

Request for Quote

*All inquiries will be responded to within 24 hours.

Send Your Inquiry

*We respect your confidentiality and all information is protected.

Download Catalog

Fill in the form below, and we will send you our entire catalog immediately!