اختيار مواد الإطارات البديلة لمعالجة ندرة المطاط الطبيعي

تعد صناعة الإطارات أكبر مستخدم للمطاط الطبيعي، حيث تمثل أكثر من 90% من إجمالي الإنتاج العالمي. من ناحية أخرى، يساهم إنتاج المطاط الطبيعي في إزالة الغابات في حوض الأمازون وفي جميع أنحاء العالم لأن أشجار المطاط تتطلب بيئة استوائية أو شبه استوائية مع ما لا يقل عن 47 بوصة من الأمطار سنويًا وبدون صقيع.

جدول المحتويات

تصنيع الإطارات عملية معقدة. يتبع كل مصنع للإطارات إجراءات فريدة ومثبتة، بدءًا من اختيار المواد الخام وحتى إدارة الجودة. تبحث شركات الإطارات عن مصادر أخرى للمطاط لحل مشكلة ندرة المطاط الطبيعي. سنناقش في هذه المدونة صفات المطاط الطبيعي وأسباب ندرته والبدائل الجديدة ومزاياها. 

هيا نبدأ!

المطاط الطبيعي في صناعة الإطارات

المطاط الطبيعي هو ذاتي التعزيز بطبيعته، مع قوة ميكانيكية كبيرة ومرونة خفيفة. ومع ذلك، لديها قيود اللزوجة وجوانب سلبية أخرى. يجب أن تخضع لعمليات مثل الفلكنة وإضافة أسود الكربون الحشو لإعداده للاستخدام في صناعة الإطارات.

ما هو المطاط الطبيعي؟

المطاط الطبيعي في العالم

يتكون المطاط الطبيعي من سلاسل بوليمر طويلة ومترابطة بشكل غير محكم من الأيزوبرين. عندما يتم تفكيك الروابط، فإنها تتحد مرة أخرى، مما يؤدي إلى مرونة المطاط. يتم تصنيع المطاط الطبيعي، على عكس المطاط الصناعي، من عصارة أشجار المطاط (على الرغم من أن النباتات الأخرى تنتج أيضًا اللاتكس، إلا أن أشجار المطاط تنتج معظم اللاتكس، وهو ما يمثل 99٪ من المطاط الطبيعي).

لماذا يفضل المطاط الطبيعي في صناعة الإطارات؟

يعتبر المطاط الطبيعي مادة خام مهمة في صناعة الإطارات والعديد من المنتجات الأخرى: يتم استخدام 73% من استخدام المطاط الطبيعي عالميًا في إنتاج الإطارات، وهو ما يمثل 20 إلى 40% من وزن الإطار (حسب القطاع).

صناعة تصنيع الإطارات

خصائصه المذهلة تجعله فريدًا وأيضًا خيارًا مهمًا لتصنيع الإطارات. لقد أثبت المطاط بلا شك أنه الخيار الأفضل، على سبيل المثال، لقوة الإطارات إلى جانب دعم حمل السيارة ومقاومة الإطارات. بعض من أفضل الخصائص هي كما يلي:

  1. ارتفاع قوة الشد: قوة الشد للمطاط الطبيعي عالية جداً. يمكن أن يتحمل قدرًا كبيرًا من الضغط والإجهاد بسبب قوته دون أن ينكسر أو يتشوه.
  2. التصاق جيد: يلتصق بسهولة بالمواد الأخرى، مما يجعله مثاليًا للاستخدام في تصنيع الإطارات، حيث يجب ربط المكونات المختلفة معًا.
  3. مقاومة استثنائية للتآكل والتمزق: المطاط الطبيعي مقاوم للقطع والتمزق والتآكل والتعب والتآكل، مما يجعله مثاليًا للاستخدام في مداس الإطارات والمكونات الأخرى المعرضة للاحتكاك والتآكل.
  4. مرونة: من المعروف أن المطاط الطبيعي هو أكثر أنواع المطاط مرونة، مما يجعله مثاليًا للاستخدام في الجدران الجانبية للإطارات. علاوة على ذلك، يتم استخدامه في مكونات أخرى أيضًا، خاصة تلك التي تحتاج إلى الثني والثني. 
  5. مقاومة الماء: المطاط الطبيعي مقاوم للماء وبعض المواد الكيميائية، مما يجعله مثاليًا للاستخدام في إنتاج الإطارات، حيث تتعرض الرطوبة والمواد الأخرى بشكل متكرر.
  6. مقاومة كيميائية معتدلة: يوفر المطاط الطبيعي مقاومة كيميائية متواضعة. وهذا يجعلها مفيدة في العديد من التطبيقات المفيدة.
  7. المتانة: المطاط الطبيعي يوفر عمرًا طويلًا للإطارات ومقاومة للتمزق والتآكل. ولذلك، فهو يجعله خيارًا ممتازًا لمداسات الإطارات إلى جانب المكونات الأخرى التي من المحتم أن تواجه الاحتكاك والتآكل.
  8. مقاومة التآكل: يوفر المطاط الطبيعي مقاومة عالية للتآكل. فهو يساعد على إطالة عمر الإطار ويحسن أداءه العام على الطريق. 

تطبيقات المطاط الطبيعي

يستخدم المطاط الطبيعي في التطبيقات التي تتطلب تآكلًا عاليًا و مقاوم للحرارة. يمكنك أيضًا العثور على التطبيقات التقنية له. إذا بحثت بشكل أعمق، فستجده في حوامل مضادة للاهتزاز، والأشرطة المطاطية، والينابيع، ووصلات القيادة، والمحامل، والمواد اللاصقة. ويرجع ذلك إلى قوتها والانضغاط.

يتم تخصيص حوالي 50% من المطاط الطبيعي لإنتاج الإطارات عالية الأداء لإطارات السيارات الرياضية وحافلات الطرق الطويلة والطائرات نظرًا لقوتها الاستثنائية ومقاومتها للحرارة. تحتوي إطارات الشاحنات على المزيد من المطاط الطبيعي، بينما تحتوي إطارات السيارات على المزيد من المطاط الصناعي. تحمل الشاحنات حمولات ثقيلة وتسافر بشكل مكثف، وبالتالي فإن الإطارات عرضة للتآكل. خصائص كشط المطاط الطبيعي تتفوق على المطاط الصناعي، لذلك يتم استخدام المزيد من المطاط الطبيعي للشاحنات. يتم أيضًا تصنيع تطبيقات أخرى مثل الخراطيم وأجزاء المركبات والمراتب الإسفنجية وصناديق البطاريات منها.

يتصاعد المضادة للاهتزاز

نظرًا لخصائصه اللزجة، يوجد المطاط الطبيعي عادة في الأسمنت المطاطي ومواد تثبيت التربة المستخدمة حول الطرق الجديدة.

ومن المعروف أيضًا أن المطاط الخام يستخدم في المواد اللاصقة ونعال الأحذية، ليس بالضرورة، ولكن في بعض الأحيان. بالإضافة إلى، يتم ببساطة تقليل حوالي 10% من مادة اللاتكس التي يتم حصادها من الأشجار إلى 60% من محلول المطاط لإنتاج منتجات مثل قفازات اللاتكس أو لاستخدامها كطلاء.

العوامل المساهمة في ندرة المطاط الطبيعي

بسبب تغير المناخ والأمراض المزمنة التي تصيب أشجار المطاط في العالم، تواجه صناعة السيارات نقصًا في إمدادات المطاط الطبيعي. يعتقد العديد من العلماء أن المطاط الطبيعي لن يستخدم بعد الآن في الصناعات المتخصصة في السنوات القادمة. فيما يلي بعض العوامل الأخرى التي تسبب ندرة المطاط الطبيعي:

1. التحديات البيئية

تعتبر الإطارات أجزاء مهمة من السيارات لأنها تدعم وزن السيارة وحركتها مع توفير ما يكفي من الجر والسلامة والراحة والمتانة ودقة التوجيه وكفاءة استهلاك الوقود. ومع ذلك، فإن غازات الدفيئة وغيرها من الانبعاثات الملوثة، بالإضافة إلى استخدام الموارد غير المتجددة أثناء تصنيع الإطارات واستخدامها، أدت إلى تفاقم ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري وتسببت في تدهور البيئة.

هذه القضايا تضر بالتوازن البيئي للبيئة. وفقا للدراسات، فإن صناعة السيارات بأكملها هي المسؤولة عن حوالي 40% من التلوث العالمي، حيث يمثل تصنيع الإطارات واستخدامها ما بين 20% إلى 30% من هذا الإجمالي.

نفذت شركات الإطارات في جميع أنحاء العالم تدابير مختلفة لتقليل تأثير الصناعة على البيئة الطبيعية. وتهدف هذه الإجراءات إلى تحقيق الهدف النهائي المتمثل في الحياد الكربوني، والذي يتضمن في المقام الأول تقليل استهلاك المواد الخام، وتقليل أوزان الإطارات، وزيادة استخدام الموارد الطبيعية والمتجددة.

اطارات مطاطية

2. الديناميكيات الجيوسياسية والتجارية

ندرة المطاط الطبيعي هي قضية معقدة تنطوي على جوانب عديدة، بما في ذلك الديناميكيات الجيوسياسية والتجارية. ساهم نقص العمالة ومخاوف خطوط الشحن الناجمة عن الوباء في نقص إمدادات المطاط الطبيعي في العديد من دول جنوب شرق آسيا حيث يتم إنتاج المطاط الطبيعي.

وقد أدى احتكار المطاط العالمي إلى أسعار لا يمكن التنبؤ بها وإفقار المنتجين. انخفض إنتاج المطاط الطبيعي بسبب زيادة تقلب أسعار المطاط العالمية وفترة طويلة من انخفاض الأسعار.

إن العديد من الخصائص التي تتسم بها أسواق الموارد الطبيعية تجعلها معرضة بشكل خاص لمختلف أشكال قوة السوق. وكثيراً ما تتركز الموارد الطبيعية في عدد قليل من البلدان، مما يزيد من احتمالات التواطؤ ويحول دون إنشاء أسواق تنافسية بالكامل.

اقتصاد العالم وتعتمد على آسيا في 90% من إمداداتها من المطاطو اشترت الولايات المتحدة وحدها ما قيمته 140 مليون دولار من المطاط الطبيعي من دول جنوب شرق آسيا في مارس 2021. أخيرًا، تعد الديناميكيات الجيوسياسية والتجارية من العوامل المهمة المساهمة في نقص المطاط الطبيعي، وحل هذه الجوانب أمر بالغ الأهمية لضمان إمدادات مستدامة من المطاط الطبيعي فقط.

3. التداعيات الاقتصادية

إن علم مزارع المطاط الطبيعي له تأثير مباشر على الاقتصاد حيث أن شركات مثل ميشلان، شركة المطاط العملاقة، تحتاج إلى الحفاظ على العرض والتحويل إلى مطاط طبيعي بنسبة 100 بالمائة من خلال 2050.

ونتيجة لذلك، فإن العواقب الاقتصادية لنقص المطاط الطبيعي شديدة، حيث يتم استخدام المطاط في أكثر من 40,000 ألف منتج تجاري، بما في ذلك معدات الحماية الشخصية مثل القفازات وحلقات الأذن للأقنعة. قد يتسبب نقص المطاط الطبيعي في تباطؤ الطلب العالمي على المطاط، والذي من المتوقع أن ينخفض ​​إلى 2.8% في عام 2023 بعد التعافي السريع بين عامي 2021 و2022.

المواد الاصطناعية الشائعة المستخدمة في إنتاج الإطارات

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُستخدم NR بشكل شائع مع المطاط الصناعي مثل مطاط الستايرين البيوتاديين (SBR)، ومطاط البوتيل (IIR)، ومطاط الكلوروبرين في صناعة الإطارات، وهذا يتطلب إضافة عوامل تقوية، بما في ذلك CB والسيليكا. فيما يلي بعض المواد الاصطناعية الشائعة المستخدمة في إنتاج الإطارات:

1. مطاط ستايرين بوتادين (سبر)

يعد هذا أحد البوليمرات المطاطية الاصطناعية الأساسية المستخدمة في إنتاج الإطارات. وهو عبارة عن كوبوليمر ستايرين / بوتادين يستخدم مع المطاط الطبيعي. تؤثر الخصائص الفيزيائية والكيميائية لـ SBR بشكل كبير على أداء مكونات الإطار الفردية، وبالتالي الأداء العام للإطار، بما في ذلك جوانب مثل مقاومة التدحرج، والتآكل، والجر.

2. مطاط النتريل (NBR)

هذا هو كوبوليمر أكريلونيتريل/بوتادين من المطاط الصناعي. يتم استخدامه في صناعة خراطيم الوقود والحشيات والأختام، وكذلك في صناعة الإطارات. إن NBR مقاوم للزيت والوقود والمواد الكيميائية الأخرى، مما يجعله خيارًا ممتازًا لتطبيقات الإطارات.

3. كلوروبرين المطاط(سجل تجاري)

هذا بوليمر مطاطي صناعي يشبه النيوبرين. إنه مقاوم للشحوم والحرارة والأوزون، مما يجعله مثاليًا للاستخدام في الإطارات. الجدران الجانبية للإطارات والمكونات الأخرى مصنوعة من CR.

4. مونومر الإيثيلين-البروبيلين-دين (إبدم)

هذا عبارة عن بوليمر صناعي مقاوم للحرارة والأوزون والعوامل الجوية. يتم استخدام EPDM لصنع الجدران الجانبية للإطارات والبطانات الداخلية والمكونات الأخرى.

استكشاف مواد بديلة للإطارات

يبحث مصنعو الإطارات عن مواد بديلة للإطارات لجعلها أكثر صداقة للبيئة واستدامة. تشمل المواد البديلة التي يجري البحث عنها ما يلي:

1. مطاط الهندباء (DR)

مطاط الهندباء

مطاط الهندباء هو مورد متجدد يمكن استخدامه بدلاً من المطاط الصناعي. إنه مصنوع من جذور نبات الهندباء الروسي ويتم بحثه كبديل محتمل للمطاط العادي من قبل منتجي الإطارات. الهندباء الروسية نبات قوي قادر على الازدهار في مختلف المناخات وأنواع التربة، مما يجعله بديلاً قابلاً للتطبيق لأشجار المطاط النموذجية المزروعة في مواقع معينة. 

تنتج جذور النبات سائلًا حليبيًا يمكن استخدامه في صناعة المطاط. خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية، تم استخدام الهندباء الروسية كمصدر للمطاط. ومع ذلك، توقف إنتاج المطاط من هذا المصنع بعد الحرب. ومن ناحية أخرى، قام الباحثون بتحسين الهندباء الروسية لإنتاج المطاط على نطاق واسع.

3. مطاط جوايول (GR)

جوايول المطاط

يعتبر مطاط Guayule مادة متجددة أخرى يتم بحثها كبديل للمطاط العادي. جوايول (بارثينيوم أرجينتاتوم) هو محصول أصلي متجدد وغير غذائي في أمريكا الشمالية، ويزدهر بأقل قدر من المياه ودون الحاجة إلى مبيدات حشرية. إنه يوفر إمدادات محلية وصديقة للبيئة من المطاط الطبيعي. تتطور بريدجستون كمصدر لإنتاج المطاط الطبيعي من شجيرة جوايول الموجودة في جنوب غرب الولايات المتحدة. 

يتضمن إجراء غوايول ما يلي:

  • زراعة شجيرة الجوايول من البذور.
  • سقي الحد الأدنى.
  • إدارة الحشائش لمدة عامين مع نضج النباتات.

يتم بعد ذلك تقطيع النباتات إلى الأرض وتحزيمها إلى مكعبات يتراوح وزنها بين 750 و800 رطل. تتم هذه العملية مرتين على مدار أربع سنوات، وبعد ذلك يتم حرث الجذور المدفونة وزراعة محصول مختلف. وفي عملية حلقة مغلقة مدتها 90 دقيقة، يتم طحن البالات في معمل تكرير حيوي، مما يؤدي إلى إنتاج ثلاثة منتجات قابلة للتطبيق تجاريًا. وهي تشمل المطاط الطبيعي المضاد للحساسية، والراتنج (المستخدم في الطلاءات والأحبار والمواد اللاصقة)، وتفل قصب السكر (المستخدم في الوقود الحيوي والمواد الكيميائية الحيوية).

3. صمغ يوكوميا أولمويدس (EUG)

يوكوميا أولمويدس صمغ

صمغ يوكوميا أولمويدس هي مادة طبيعية تشبه المطاط تم جمعها من لحاء شجرة Eucommia ulmoides. ويجري بحثه كبديل محتمل للمطاط الصناعي. شجرة Eucommia ulmoides مستوطنة في الصين وتشتهر بفوائدها العلاجية. يحتوي لحاء الشجرة على مادة كيميائية يمكن معالجتها وتحويلها إلى مادة تشبه المطاط. تتم دراسة EUG كبديل محتمل للمطاط الصناعي المستخرج من البترول، وهو ليس موردًا مستدامًا.

تتمتع EUG بثنائية جيدة من المطاط والبلاستيك ولديها مجموعة واسعة من التطبيقات في الطب الحيوي والمنسوجات والفضاء وغيرها من القطاعات. نظرًا لأن EUG يوفر خصائص احتكاكية فائقة، فهو بديل قابل للتطبيق للمطاط الطبيعي (NR) في تطبيقات إطارات الطائرات.

ابتكر الباحثون مادة مطاطية لصمغ Eucommia ulmoides معدلة بالثيازوليدين ديون مع مرونة متزايدة وقدرات ذاكرة الشكل. قد يصبح EUG المعدل مطاطيًا قويًا جيدًا يتمتع بقوة عالية واستطالة وصلابة أو مطاطًا فريدًا عن طريق تغيير تغذية TAD.

فوائد استخدام مواد جديدة في الإطارات

يمكن للمواد الجديدة في الإطارات أن تحقق فوائد عديدة، بما في ذلك توفير التكاليف والاستدامة البيئية. فيما يلي بعض فوائد استخدام مواد جديدة في الإطارات:

إطار سيارة

1. التوفير في التكاليف

يمكن للمواد الجديدة أن تحل محل المطاط الطبيعي باهظ الثمن. ويمكن أن يؤدي أيضًا إلى توفير التكاليف لمصنعي الإطارات حيث يقومون بإنشاء مواد أكثر استدامة لبناء الإطار.

2. الاستدامة البيئية

يمكن للإطارات الخضراء المصنوعة من مواد جديدة أن تساعد في تخفيف التحديات البيئية المتزايدة اليوم. يتم تصنيع الإطارات المستدامة بمواد صديقة للبيئة وإجراءات تصنيع منخفضة الانبعاثات.

وكثيراً ما يستخدمون مواد معاد تدويرها أو متجددة، مثل المطاط الطبيعي، والزيوت الحيوية، والإطارات المعاد تدويرها، والزجاجات البلاستيكية المعاد تدويرها. تعزز هذه الطريقة الاقتصاد الدائري عن طريق تقليل الاعتماد على الموارد غير المتجددة.

3. تحسين كفاءة استهلاك الوقود

لقد خفضت الإطارات المستدامة مقاومة التدحرج، مما أتاح توفير الوقود. وهذا يمكن أن يقلل من استخدام الطاقة والوقود، وكذلك انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة.

4. انخفاض الانبعاثات

عند استخدامها، تنبعث الإطارات الصديقة للبيئة من انبعاثات خطرة أقل من الإطارات القياسية. يضمن زيت فول الصويا، على سبيل المثال، أن يظل المركب المطاطي للإطار قابلاً للطرق عند درجات حرارة مختلفة، بينما يساعد أيضًا في تقليل كمية المواد البترولية اللازمة لإنتاج الإطارات.

ولإضفاء مستوى عالٍ من الثبات، يتم أيضًا استخدام السيليكا عالية الجودة المصنوعة من بقايا نفايات قشور الأرز، وهي منتج ثانوي لتصنيع الأرز، داخل الإطار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم تحويل البوليستر الناتج من الزجاجات البلاستيكية المعاد تدويرها إلى مواد كيميائية أساسية لاستخدامها كبوليستر من الدرجة التقنية في أسلاك الإطارات.

5. تمديد عمر الإطارات

تعتبر الإطارات المجددة أقل تكلفة وأداءها مماثل للإطارات الجديدة، مما يجعلها خيارًا فعالاً وفعالاً من حيث التكلفة لاستبدال الإطارات. من خلال إعادة استخدام المطاط المعاد تدويره وإطالة عمر المواد المهمة، فإن تجديد الإطارات يقلل من النفايات ويوفر فوائد بيئية.

وفي الختام

نظرًا لانخفاض تكلفة العمالة اللازمة لزراعة الأشجار والاستفادة منها، ظل المطاط مادة خام اقتصادية نسبيًا لعقود من الزمن. ومع ذلك، لا يبدو أن صناعة المطاط تنمو. ولمعالجة مشكلة نقص المطاط الطبيعي، يجب على الشركات المصنعة دراسة بدائل جديدة والعمل على مواد أخرى.

قدمت هذه المدونة معلومات عن بدائل المطاط الطبيعي وكيف يمكن لهذه المواد أن تساعد في تصنيع صناعة الإطارات. لذا، كن مستعدًا لمواجهة هذه المشكلة، وإذا كنت بحاجة إلى مواد وحلول مطاطية جديدة لمشروعك القادم، فإن Hongju مستعدة تمامًا لتقديمها وفقًا لاحتياجاتك.

لماذا تختار Hongju للمنتجات المطاطية؟

Hongju هي الشركة الرائدة والمورد بالجملة منتجات مطاط السيليكون. نحن متخصصون في تطوير وإنتاج منتجات مطاطية عالية الجودة. هونغجو تلتزم بأخلاقيات العمل المتمثلة في الجودة والابتكار ورضا العملاء. نحن نقدم مجموعة واسعة من المنتجات المطاطية باستخدام مواد صديقة للبيئة فقط. إذا كانت صناعتك مستعدة أيضًا لتحويل شركتك إلى مورد منتجات مستدامة، فإن Hongju لديها المواد التي تحتاجها.

احصل على عرض أسعار فوري الآن!

شارك المنشور الآن:

ديفيد

مرحبًا ، أنا ديفيد!

أنا مؤسس Hongju Silicone. لقد كنت في هذا المجال لأكثر من عقدين. إذا كنت تبحث عن منتجات مطاط السيليكون المصنوعة حسب الطلب ، فلا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة علي.

قد تجد أيضا هذه المواضيع مثيرة للاهتمام

ffkm يا خواتم والأختام

6 أسباب لاختيار الحلقات والأختام FFKM

ارتفع الطلب على الحلقات والأختام FFKM بشكل مطرد في السنوات الأخيرة. وذلك على الرغم من ارتفاع أسعارها وقلة توفرها. على الرغم من أن هذه الأختام والحلقات هي من أغلى الأنواع اليوم، إلا أنها أثبتت أنها لا غنى عنها في العديد من التطبيقات الهامة.

اقرأ المزيد »

طلب للحصول على اقتباس

* سيتم الرد على جميع الاستفسارات خلال 24 ساعة.

أرسل استفسارك

* نحن نحترم سريتك وجميع المعلومات محمية.

تنزيل الكتالوج

املأ النموذج أدناه ، وسنرسل لك الكتالوج بالكامل فورا!

Selecting Alternative Tire Materials to Address Natural Rubber Scarcity

The tire industry is the largest user of natural rubber, accounting for over 90% of total global production. Natural rubber production, on the other hand, contributes to deforestation in the Amazon basin and around the world because rubber trees require a tropical or subtropical environment with at least 47 inches of rainfall per year and no frost.

Table of Contents

Tire makers are looking at other sources of rubber to solve the scarcity of natural rubber. In this blog, we will discuss natural rubber qualities, the causes for its scarcity, and novel alternatives with their advantages. 

Let’s Begin!

Natural Rubber in the Tire Industry

Natural rubber is self-reinforcing by nature, with great mechanical strength and mild flexibility. It does, however, have viscosity constraints and other downsides. It must undergo processes like vulcanization and adding Carbon Black fillers to prepare it for use in tire manufacturing.

What is Natural Rubber?

World's Natural Rubber

Natural rubber is made up of long, loosely connected polymer chains of isoprene. When the links are pulled apart, they reunite, resulting in the elasticity of rubber. Natural rubber, as opposed to synthetic rubbers, is made from the latex sap of rubber trees (although other plants also produce latex, rubber trees produce the most latex, accounting for 99% of natural rubber).

Why Natural Rubber is Preferred for Tire Manufacturing?

Natural rubber is an important raw material in tires and many other products: 73% of global natural rubber usage is utilized in tire production, accounting for 20 to 40% of tire weight (depending on the segment).

                                                                 Tire manufacturing industry

Its amazing properties make it unique and also a significant choice for tire manufacturing. Rubber has undoubtedly proven to be the best choice, for example, for tire strength along with vehicle load support and tire resistance. Some of the best properties are as follows:

  1. High Tensile Strength: The tensile strength of natural rubber is very high. It can withstand considerable stress and strain due to its strength without breaking or deforming.
  2. Good Adhesion: It adheres easily to other materials, making it ideal for use in tire manufacturing, where different components must be bonded together.
  3. Exceptional Abrasion and Tear Resistance: Natural rubber is resistant to cutting, tearing, wear, fatigue, and abrasion, making it perfect for use in tire treads and other friction and abrasion-prone components.
  4. Flexibility: Natural Rubber is known to be the most flexible type of rubber, making it ideal for use in tire sidewalls. Moreover, it is used in other components as well, especially the ones that need bending and flexing. 
  5. Water Resistance: Natural rubber is resistant to water and certain chemicals, making it perfect for use in tire production, where moisture and other substances are frequently exposed.
  6. Moderate Chemical Resistance:  Natural Rubber offers a modest chemical resistance. This makes it useful in many useful applications.
  7. Durability: Natural Rubber provides long life to the tires and resistance to tear and wear. Therefore, it makes it an excellent choice for tire treads along with other components that are bound to encounter friction and abrasion.
  8. Abrasion Resistance: Natural rubber provides high resistance to abrasion. It helps in the long life of the tire and improves its overall road performance. 

Applications of Natural Rubber

Natural rubber is used in applications that require high wear and heat resistance. You can also find technical applications of it. If you dig deeper, you will find it in anti-vibration mounts, rubber bands, springs, drive couplings, bearings, and adhesives. It is due to its strength and compressibility.

Around 50% of natural rubber is dedicated to the production of high-performance tires for tires for sports cars, long-route buses, and airplanes due to its exceptional strength and heat resistance. Other applications like hoses, vehicle parts, foam mattresses, and battery boxes are also made from it.

anti-vibration mounts

Due to its sticky characteristics, natural rubber is normally found in rubber cement and soil stabilization materials used around new roadways.

Raw rubber is also known to be used in adhesives and shoe soles, not necessarily, but occasionally. Furthermore, around 10% of latex harvested from trees is simply reduced to 60% rubber solution to produce products such as latex gloves or to utilize as a coating.

Factors Contributing to Natural Rubber Scarcity

Due to climate change and chronic illness among the world’s rubber trees, the car industry is facing a natural rubber supplies shortage. Many scientists believe natural rubber will no longer be employed in specialized industries in the coming years. Here are some of the other factors causing Natural rubber Scarcity:

1. Environmental Challenges

Tires are crucial parts of cars because they support the vehicle’s weight and movement while offering enough traction, safety, comfort, durability, steering precision, and fuel efficiency. However, greenhouse gas and other pollutant emissions, combined with the use of nonrenewable resources during tire manufacturing and use, have exacerbated global warming and caused environmental degradation.

These issues are harmful to the ecological balance of the environment. According to studies, the entire automobile industry is responsible for around 40% of global pollution, with tire manufacture and use accounting for 20%-30% of this total.

Tire companies worldwide have implemented various measures to reduce the industry’s impact on the natural environment. These measures aim to achieve the ultimate goal of carbon neutrality, which primarily includes reducing raw material consumption, decreasing tire weights, and increasing the use of natural and renewable resources.

Rubber Tires

2. Geopolitical and Trade Dynamics

Natural rubber scarcity is a complicated issue involving many aspects, including geopolitical and trade dynamics. Labor shortages and shipping line concerns caused by the epidemic have contributed to a natural rubber supply shortage in many Southeast Asian countries where natural rubber is produced.

A global rubber cartel has resulted in unpredictable prices and impoverished producers. Natural rubber production has declined due to the increased volatility of global rubber prices and a lengthy period of low prices.

Several characteristics of natural resource markets make them especially vulnerable to various forms of market power. Natural resources are frequently concentrated in a few countries, which raises the possibility of collusion and inhibits the establishment of totally competitive marketplaces.

The world economy relies on Asia for 90% of its rubber supply, and the United States alone bought $140 million in natural rubber from Southeast Asian countries in March 2021. Finally, geopolitical and trade dynamics are important contributors to the natural rubber shortage, and resolving these aspects is critical to ensuring a sustainable supply of only natural rubber.

3. Economic Ramifications

Natural rubber plantation science has a direct impact on economics since corporations like Michelin, the rubber giant, need to maintain supply and convert to 100 percent natural rubber by 2050.

As a result, the economic consequences of natural rubber shortage are severe, as rubber is employed in over 40,000 commercial items, including personal protective equipment like gloves and mask ear loops. Natural rubber shortages may cause a slowdown in worldwide rubber demand, which is expected to decrease to 2.8% in 2023 after a rapid recovery between 2021 and 2022.

Common Synthetic Materials Used in Tire Production

Here are some common synthetic materials used in tire production:

1. Styrene-butadiene Rubber (SBR)

This is one of the two primary synthetic rubber polymers used in the production of tires. It is a styrene/butadiene copolymer that is used in conjunction with natural rubber. The physical and chemical characteristics of SBR have a significant impact on the performance of individual tire components and, consequently, the overall tire performance, including aspects like rolling resistance, wear, and traction.

2. Nitrile Rubber (NBR)

This is an acrylonitrile/butadiene copolymer of synthetic rubber. It’s utilized to make fuel hoses, gaskets, and seals, as well as in the tire business. NBR is resistant to oil, fuel, and other chemicals, making it an excellent choice for tire applications.

3. Chloroprene Rubber(CR)

This is a synthetic rubber polymer that resembles neoprene. It is resistant to grease, heat, and ozone, making it ideal for use in tires. Tire sidewalls and other components are made from CR.

4. Ethylene-Propylene-Diene Monomer (EPDM)

This is a heat, ozone, and weather-resistant synthetic rubber polymer. EPDM is used to make tire sidewalls, inner liners, and other components.

Exploring Alternative Materials for Tires

Tire manufacturers are investigating alternate tire materials to make them more environmentally friendly and sustainable. Alternative materials being researched include:

1. Dandelion Rubber (DR)

Dandelion Rubber

Dandelion rubber is a renewable resource that can be used in place of synthetic rubber. It is made from the roots of the Russian dandelion plant and is being researched as a potential replacement for regular rubber by tire producers. The Russian dandelion is a hardy plant capable of thriving in different climates and soil types, making it a viable alternative to typical rubber trees grown in certain locations. 

The plant’s roots produce a milky fluid that can be used to make rubber. During WWII, the Russian dandelion was used as a source of rubber. However, production of rubber from this plant ceased after the war. On the other hand, researchers have optimized the Russian dandelion for large-scale rubber production.

3. Guayule Rubber (GR)

Guayule Rubber

Guayule Rubber is another renewable material being researched as a replacement for regular rubber. Guayule (Parthenium argentatum) is a native North American renewable, non-food crop, thriving with minimal water and without the need for pesticides. It offers a locally generated, eco-friendly supply of natural rubber. Bridgestone is developing as a source for natural rubber production from the guayule bush found in the United States Southwest. 

The guayule procedure includes:

  • Planting the guayule bush from seed.
  • Watering minimally.
  • Managing weeds for two years as the plants mature.

The plants are then chopped flush to the ground and baled into cubes weighing 750 to 800 pounds. This process is done twice over four years, after which the buried roots are tilled under, and a different crop is planted. In a 90-minute closed-loop process, the bales are ground at a biorefinery, yielding three commercially viable products. It includes hypoallergenic natural rubber, resin (used in coatings, inks, and adhesives), and bagasse (used for biofuels and bio-based chemicals).

3. Eucommia Ulmoides Gum (EUG)

Eucommia Ulmoides Gum

Eucommia ulmoides gum is a natural rubber-like substance collected from the Eucommia ulmoides tree’s bark. It is being researched as a possible replacement for synthetic rubber. The Eucommia ulmoides tree is endemic to China and is well-known for its therapeutic benefits. The tree’s bark includes a chemical that can be processed into a rubber-like material. EUG is being studied as a possible alternative to synthetic rubber sourced from petroleum and is not a sustainable resource.

EUG has good rubber-plastic duality and has a wide range of applications in biomedicine, textiles, aerospace, and other sectors. Since EUG offers superior tribological properties, it is a viable alternative to natural rubber (NR) in aircraft tire applications.

Researchers created a thiazolidinedione-modified Eucommia ulmoides gum elastomer with increased elasticity and shape memory capabilities. The modified EUG might become a good tough elastomer with high strength, elongation, and toughness or a unique rubber by changing the TAD feed.

Benefits of Using New Materials in Tires

New materials in tires can bring several benefits, including cost savings and environmental sustainability. Here are some of the benefits of using new materials in tires:

                                                                                Car Tire

1. Cost Savings

New materials can replace high-priced natural rubber. It can further lead to cost savings for tire manufacturers as they create more sustainable materials to build a tire.

2. Environmental Sustainability

Green tires made from new materials can help to relieve today’s mounting environmental challenges. Sustainable tires are created with environmentally friendly materials and low-emission manufacturing procedures.

They frequently use recycled or renewable materials, such as natural rubber, bio-oils, recycled tires, and recycled plastic bottles. This method promotes a circular economy by reducing reliance on nonrenewable resources.

3. Improved Fuel Efficiency

Sustainable tires have reduced rolling resistance, enabling fuel savings. This can minimize energy and fuel usage, as well as greenhouse gas emissions.

4. Reduced Emissions

When used, eco-friendly tires emit fewer hazardous emissions than standard tires. Soybean oil, for example, guarantees that the tire’s rubber compound remains malleable at varying temperatures while also helping to reduce the quantity of petroleum-based materials required for tire production.

To give a high level of grip, a high-quality silica made from rice husk waste residue, a byproduct of rice manufacturing, is also employed within the tire. In addition, polyester from recycled plastic bottles is converted into base chemicals for usage as technical-grade polyester in tire cords.

5. Extended Tire Life

Retread tires are less expensive and perform just as well as new tires, making them an efficient and cost-effective tire replacement option. By reusing recycled rubber and extending the life of important materials, retreading tires minimizes waste and provides environmental benefits.

Conclusion

Due to the low cost of labor required to grow and tap trees, rubber has been a relatively economical raw material for decades. However, the rubber industry does not seem to grow. To address the issue of natural rubber shortage, manufacturers must study new alternatives and work on other materials.

This blog has provided information on natural rubber alternatives and how these materials can help with tire manufacturing. So, be prepared to face the issue, and if you need new rubber materials and solutions for your next project, Hongju is all set to deliver as per your needs.

Why Choose Hongju for Rubber Products?

Hongju is a leading manufacturer and wholesale supplier of silicone rubber products. We specialize in the development and production of high-quality rubber products. Hongju adheres to the work ethics of quality, innovation, and customer satisfaction. We offer a wide range of rubber products using only environmentally friendly materials. If your industry is also ready to turn your company into a sustainable products supplier, Hongju has the materials you need.

Get Instant Quote Now!

Share The Post Now:

david

Hey there, I’m David!

I’m the founder of Hongju Silicone. I have been in this field for more than two decades. If you are looking for custom-made silicone rubber products, feel free to ask me any questions.

You may also find these topics interesting

4 types of silicone

4 Types of Silicone and Their Distinctions

Silicone rubber, an elastomeric material known for its exceptional properties, plays a pivotal role in various industries, from medical devices to automotive applications. Understanding the 4 types of silicone and their distinctions—ranging from liquid silicone rubber (LSR) to high-consistency rubber (HCR)—is crucial for selecting the right material for your needs.

Read More »
epdm rubber

EPDM Rubber: The Definitive Guide

EPDM, or Ethylene Propylene Diene Monomer rubber, is a versatile material known for its durability and weather-resistant properties. It is used in a wide range of industries, including roofing, automotive, and construction.

Read More »
silicone rubber guide

Silicone Rubber: The Definitive Guide

Like natural rubber, silicone rubber is among the versatile materials used in many industrial applications. Be it healthcare or aerospace, you will find silicone rubber material there in one form or the other.

Read More »

Send Your Inquiry

*We respect your confidentiality and all information is protected.

Download Catalog

Fill in the form below, and we will send you our entire catalog immediately!